What happened to OC? - CLOSED Carnage?!
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Kavawuvi

Overclocking

27 posts in this topic

Do you overclock? This includes anything that can be overclocked, including CPUs, GPUs, RAM, etc. If so, share your results/opinions.

Overclocking allows users to push their hardware beyond its rated specifications, making it run faster than designed. Many different types of hardware can be overclocked, not just CPUs and GPUs. While the art itself isn’t new, many tools and motherboards have been released to make it easy for even total novices to get a decent chunk of additional performance out of their hardware as simple as possible.

However, it’s not always “free” performance. Raising the voltage may be necessary to prevent instability and crashes depending on the overclock. Doing so increases power consumption, thus increasing heat output. Sometimes, users will have to invest in better cooling to actually benefit from overclocking; processors don’t function well in extreme heat, potentially becoming even more unstable. Also, not every chip is created equally – processors may overclock better or worse than otherwise identical processors; this is commonly referred to the "silicon lottery" by some. Lastly, overclocking can void the warranty, so it’s important to make sure a chip isn’t defective before overclocking it.

Takka and WaeV like this

Tiddy-bits:

I feel like I might as well, if I have decent headroom. It's fun and the difference is usually significant enough to notice.

Kavawuvi likes this

Oddly, this is familiar to you... as if from an old dream.  

I'll overclock the RAM, CPU, and GPU. Even if I don't get anything significant out of doing so, it's always good to know how fast it can go, just for the sake of knowing.

My BIOS auto-overclocks my CPU and RAM and apparently my GPU can do the same due to drivers/ some tools that came with it I guess.