Welcome to Open Carnage

A resource for Halo 1 modding and tech, with unique means of rewarding individual content creation and support. Have a wander to see why we're worth the time! EST. 2012

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
CptStrike

Creating a Map from Scratch

Hey everyone, I'm new to making/editing Halo CE maps; but I want to either start from scratch, or take bits an pieces of old starter maps to create something totally new. 

I want to know what programs I should use, and if anyone can help me out and be a part of the project, I think the end result will be very good looking, and a sweet training map.

Main issues I'm running into:

~graphics for the map, as they will be almost all custom

~learning how to create portals, as well as weapon spawn points

~overall creation of the map (building walls, different levels, etc.

Again anyone willing to help point me in the right direction is appreciated. Thanks!

WaeV likes this

~I am not immortal. I will die. I only swear this before I do...you die first.~
~If we must live with regrets, make them of things we did, not things we wish we had done.~

Members of Open Carnage never see off-site ads.

You're going to need 3Ds Max or GMax to do your 3D Modeling if you want to MAKE a map. If you just want to edit an existing map, then go and download HEK (Halo Editing Kit): http://hce.halomaps.org/index.cfm?fid=411

If you want more freedom with the Editing Kit, then you can use a modified version of it by Kornman. http://hce.halomaps.org/index.cfm?fid=1422 This modified version is recommended ONLY when you become experienced in using HEK. This version unlocks features that can break your files if you configure them incorrectly.

Extensive tutorial on how to create a fully custom map of your own: http://hce.halomaps.org/hek/