Welcome to Open Carnage

A resource for Halo 1 modding and tech, with unique means of rewarding individual content creation and support. Have a wander to see why we're worth the time! EST. 2012

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
TCK

Question about my old hard drive

11 posts in this topic

So I had a 1 TB HDD that fucked out on me a month ago, I got it back on its feet for a while with a full reformat and fresh Windows install, but then it eventually ended up crashing again. From what I can tell, part of the disk is permanently corrupted and unusable, while part of it is fine and the computer runs fine when it doesn't try to access the bad areas.

Anyway before the first time I realized I had HDD problems, I had been having some various lockups and eventually a couple crashes. During any of these times, as far as I remember, I was using flash on multiple applications. Every time. I have a feeling it's just a coincidence, but part of me wondered (since I'm not a hardware expert) about whether Adobe's improper use of virtual memory (which is of course located on the hard drive) could ruin the partition of a drive it's on for any reason.

Feel free to tell me I'm retarded.

Floofies likes this

Umh7x1l.gif

Members of Open Carnage never see off-site ads.

You're not retarded, HDD failure just sucks ass. I have had to tell a lot of my clients that theirs is completely gone, everything dead. It's like being a doctor and telling a family their baby just died or something.